Contact Us

Thanks for visiting the website. If you want to get in touch you can reach me through Twitter or please fill out the form on the right.


123 Street Avenue, City Town, 99999

(123) 555-6789


You can set your address, phone number, email and site description in the settings tab.
Link to read me page with more information.

Prime Minister's Prizes for Science


Prime Minister's Prizes for Science

Alan Duffy

It was a career highlight for me to be the MC for the Nation’s most prestigious awards, the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science, and that it was the 20th anniversary just made it all the more amazing to be a part of for me. The end result that a majority of awards went to women (for the first time!) made that experience even more wonderful.

We are faced by global challenges that can only be addressed by more science and technology not less which is what an event that celebrates our best and brightest in these fields is so important. More than that we celebrate educators in the #PMPrizes and the critical role that they play in creating those talented scientists and innovators of the future. Hearing from Chief Defence Scientist Professor Tanya Monro and her thoughts on the importance of diversity in science and the balance between applied and fundamental in a `fireside’ chat was a joy.

To all those who worked behind the scenes on making this event just a joy to deliver thank you so much. And my immense congratulations once again to all the incredible recipients, you have made Australia a better place through science.

And yes I got a selfie with the PM.

Photos are below but before all that you should read all about the winners and their work on Cosmos but if you can’t take leaving this page here’s the list of amazing scientists and educators in their categories:

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Science - Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Innovation - The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute team (Associate Professor Peter Czabotar, Professor David Huang, Professor Guillaume Lessene and Professor Andrew Roberts)

  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year - Associate Professor Laura Mackay

  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year - Associate Professor Elizabeth New

  • New Innovators - Dr Luke Campbell (Nura)

  • Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools - Mrs Sarah Finney

  • Excellence in Teaching in Secondary Schools - Dr Samantha Moyle